G3GM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

75 Malibu Digger build

5 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

75 Malibu Digger build Empty 75 Malibu Digger build

Post by Digger Thu Jun 17, 2021 11:37 pm

I’m new to using forums, let me know if this is place to post new topic.

I recently said Hi in the intro section.

So my first step on this 75 Malibu was to install a 454 motor and seems I have a mystery already.

Motor is in. It was advertised as rebuilt 454 that had a long list of upgrades and rated 450hp. I have zero knowledge of who built motor or if they broke it in properly. It was a “deal”. Headers on it and beautiful Flowmaster.

Runs like crap. A local shop did the install and I think they were over their heads.

Upon tuning, too much noise from valve covers triggered a stop and investigate. The main nuts on rockers were all loose and one completely off.

Comp Cam 924-16 springs I think as I have a box with this part number. I also have inside this box a set of install instructions that underline 85000-16

Cam is Comp Cam hydraulic flat tappet. 11.246.3 extreme energy
552/555 lift
230 / 236 0.050
1800-6000

Mechanic put new nuts on, tightened them 1/2 turn.

I have no idea why nuts came off. Mistake? Lazy? Or some pressure forcing them off?

Investigating further. Instructions say remove inner spring for break in and only tighten 1/8 turn.

Getting it home it ran poorly and my first worry is motor damage. Looking further one lead was off and the carb vacuum line goes to nowhere. (Plugged off)

Removing valve covers it has two types of springs

One spring has an inner and an outer spring. Outer spring is round while inner is flat. Perhaps this is a damper?

The springs further away from Center all have the dual spring. The springs all closer to center of motor have single springs.

What do I have? What should I have?

Can anybody help with this mystery?

Digger
G3GM Member
G3GM Member