G3GM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Rear Brakes

+4
bracketchev1221
newmexguy
impalamonte
bigredlaguna
8 posters

Go down

Rear Brakes Empty Rear Brakes

Post by 76 Malibu Fri May 31, 2019 9:25 pm

I am going to replace the rear brake drums and shoes on my Malibu. With so many made in China and poorly made aftermarket parts today, does anyone have a recommendation for some decent quality shoes and drums?

The local Car Quest has the Carquest WearEver brand shoes and drums for a decent price but I have never used them before. RockAuto has Raybestos for a decent price as well.

Any recommendations?
76 Malibu
76 Malibu
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Street Cred : 2

Back to top Go down

Rear Brakes Empty Re: Rear Brakes

Post by bigredlaguna Sat Jun 01, 2019 4:25 pm

I just did the brakes on my daughter's 74. I ordered new rotors and drums through RockAuto. I don't recall the brand at the moment, but the only difference I noticed was the wear out dimensions on the drums were in mm instead of inches.
bigredlaguna
bigredlaguna
G3GM Senior Member
G3GM Senior Member

Street Cred : 53

Back to top Go down

Post by 76 Malibu Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:14 pm

Thanks for the reply. It seems that there is very limited choices out there these days for these cars. I checked RockAuto and there was nothing that jumped out at me as being better than the other choices.

I may just end up going with a local Carquest Parts because I've dealt with them for years and never had any issues with warranty problems. If anyone else has any advice feel free to add in.
76 Malibu
76 Malibu
G3GM Member
G3GM Member

Back to top Go down

Post by impalamonte Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:09 pm

For what its worth....I have a set of drums, used , original equipment. Really good shape. Take offs in favor of my rear discs. I know for sure I have had them 30 years.
impalamonte
impalamonte
G3GM Enthusiast
G3GM Enthusiast

Street Cred : 18

Back to top Go down